Mapas de la Eurorregión y de la Comunidad de Trabajo de los Pirineos

Interregional and cross-border cooperation

The Government of Navarre participates in various multiregional cooperation bodies and maintains an active cross-border and interregional policy. These are the forums in which it takes part.

  • Nouvelle Aquitaine, Navarra, Euskadi Eurorregion
    This Euroregion unites three regions in two countries, making up a Euroregion territory with a population of 8.7 million people, a common space for cooperation to promote projects that contribute to economic, social and cultural development at cross-border, interregional and European level.
    Adherence Agreement
  • Working Community of the Pyrenees
    This is an interregional cross-border cooperation body created in 1983 consisting of the regional authorities in charge of the territories flanking the Pyrenees. Its members are: the two French regions of Nouvelle-Aquitaine and Occitanie; the four Spanish Autonomous Communities of Aragon, Catalonia, Basque Country and Navarre; and the Principality of Andorra.
    Adherence Agreement
    • Management of POCTEFA
      The CTP was made a consortium in 2005 and with this status became the Managing Authority of the Operational Programme for Territorial Cooperation Spain-France-Andorra (Interreg IV-A - POCTEFA), which between 2014 and 2020 managed a fund of more than 190 million euros, with projects in which Navarre participated accounting for more than 20 million. The Government of Navarre is a member of the Programming and Monitoring Committees for this operational programme. The Directorate for External Action has developed the Navarrefa initiative, a forum for information, capitalisation and networking around the POCTEFA programme in Navarre.
  • Navarre - Pyrénées-Atlantiques Agreement
    Navarre and the French Department of Pyrénées-Atlantiques (Nouvelle-Aquitaine) have maintained formal inter-administrative collaboration since 2010, when they signed the first cross-border cooperation framework agreement. Important work has been carried out since then, yielding results in many areas: risk management, territorial development, tourism, culture, sports, mobility, etc.
    Adherence Agreement
  • Trans-Pyrenean Atlantic Conference (CAT)
    This is a cooperation entity created in 2007 by the public authorities on both sides of the Bidasoa river to strengthen local cross-border cooperation. Its Spanish members are: the Government of the Basque Autonomous Community, the Provincial Council of Gipuzkoa and the Government of Navarre (2018); and its French members are: the Departmental Council of the Pyrénées-Atlantiques, the Nouvelle-Aquitaine Regional Council and the Agglomeration Community of the Basque Country, with the participation of the Prefecture of Pyrénées..
    Adherence Agreement