Participation of Navarre in the EU

Navarre is present in European decision making through direct participation in the Council of the European Union, the various committees of the European Commission, the Committee of the Regions and the Conference for European Union Affairs (CARUE).

  • Council of the European Union 
    The Council of the EU, also known as "the Council", is composed of government ministers from each member country and meets to discuss, amend and adopt laws, and coordinate policies. The ministers have the authority to commit their governments to the actions agreed on in the meetings. A Spanish Autonomous Community always takes part as a full member of the Spanish delegation in the name and on behalf of all the Autonomous Communities. As a rule, participation is for six-month periods on a rotary basis.
  • European Comission 
    Navarre participates in the decisions made by the European Commission through comitology. Comitology is a set of procedures through which EU countries monitor the way in which the European Commission applies legislation. In order to apply a legal rule, the Commission must first consult a committee representing all the member countries on the detailed measures that it proposes in order to implement it. In the period 2018 - 2021, Navarre has taken part in 17 committees on various subjects.
  • Committee of the Regions
    the voice of the regions and cities of the European Union. The committee acts as an advisory body which must be consulted by the European Commission, the Council of Ministers and the European Parliament on any key issue with regional impact in a set of areas which account for more than two-thirds of the EU’s legislative output. It may also issue an opinion on its own initiative, allowing it to include matters which concern regional and local authorities on the European agenda.

    The Committee is composed of 353 representatives of European regional and local authorities from the 27 Member States. The Spanish representation consists of regional presidents and mayors. The representative of the Community of Navarre is the President of the Government and Navarre is present in two of the Committee’s six commissions:
    • ECON (Commission for Economic Policy)
    • SEDEC (Commission for Social Policy, Education, Employment and Culture)
    Navarre is a member of the Conference for European Union Affairs (CARUE), an organ of cooperation between the State and the autonomous communities whose mission it is to encourage the participation of the regional governments in the European policies which affect their competencies. Through this participation, the common position of the State with respect to the EU is established.